剑桥大学案例

剑桥大学耶稣学院餐厅选用了Xilica Neutrino A0808处理器的首要原因是它处理挑战性声学和灵活布线要求的能力。

作为剑桥大学的一部分,耶稣学院拥有超过700位本科生和研究生,还有一系列包括poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge 和playwright  Sir David Hare著名校友。即使它的起源很悠久和著名,但该学院的基础技术设施仍然在前沿。

在最近的一个升级改造计划中,耶稣学院决定彻底检查餐厅的音频基础设施。在一段时间里,餐厅不能继续举办各种著名的活动,清晰度的缺乏是首要问题。经过密切的合作,集成商About sound 和经销商Audiologic设计和实施了一个替代方案,设计为场地的音频性能带来明显的改善。

在PA安装在房间的角落边上,新设计优先考虑更多局部位置,K-array 音箱贯穿整个餐厅的各个位置,随着K-array 功放和Sennheier 无线麦克风等其他核心设备,Xilica Neutrino A0808 DSP为这个改造系统提供了控制中心。

如Audiologic市场营销总监Andy Lewis解析“我们特别指明Neutrino A0808的因素是它同时可以安装一个Touch 7 墙装控制面板-这是相当直接的,我们需要一个通透的声音,易于操作的触屏DSP,这完全是定制的。”他说“我很高兴,这恰恰是我们可以从Neutrino A0808 得到的”

DSP的主要功能是在常规期待的参数范围内,修正房间均衡,音频输入布线,调整音量级别和预设-尽管房间挑战性声学意味着处理器的响应能力特别受欢迎。它的可靠性也是如此,自它安装以后,设备可以无缝运行,没有出现过中断。

学院的工作人员以及广泛的客户都注意到了大厅整体音频性能戏剧性的进步。其中一个客户评论说,新旧系统的变化尤如昼夜之间的差别,从参观者得到的评论都同样积极。

对于Audiologic而言,这项目的成功为Xilica漫长的产品成功历史更添一笔。 Lewis总结说“目前Xilica Neutrino和UNO提供了在市场上成本效益最好的DSP解决方案,特别是支持Dante 的版本,我相信我们将来的更多项目指定使用Xilica的产品。”

University of Cambridge

The ability to cope with challenging acoustics and flexible routing requirements were chief among the factors that led to the recent specification of a Xilica Neutrino A0808 digital signal processor in the Dining Hall at Jesus College.

Part of the University of Cambridge, Jesus College has more than 700 undergraduate and postgraduate students, and a list of alumni that includes poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge and playwright Sir David Hare. But although its provenance might be long and distinguished, the College maintains a technological infrastructure that is the very definition of cutting-edge.

For one of its most recent upgrade initiatives, it decided to overhaul the audio infrastructure in its Dining Hall. For some time it had been felt that intelligibility – or lack thereof – in the room was a major issue, and with the hall hosting numerous prestigious functions this wasn’t a state of affairs that could be allowed to continue. Working in close cooperation, integrator About Sound and distributor Audiologic devised and implemented a replacement solution designed to deliver a significant improvement to the venue’s audio performance.

Whereas before the PA had been located at one end of the room only, the new design prioritised more localised positions, with K-array speakers situated at different positions throughout the hall. Along with K-array amplifiers and Sennheiser wireless microphones, among other core equipment, an Xilica Neutrino A0808 DSP provides the centre of operations for the revamped system.

As Audiologic Sales & Marketing Director Andy Lewis explains, the factors behind the specification of the Neutrino A0808 – which has been installed in conjunction with a single wall-mount Touch 7 control panel – were relatively straightforward. “We needed a transparent-sounding, easy-to-control DSP with touch-screen operation that was completely customisable,” he says. “And I am glad to say that that is precisely what we got with the Neutrino A0808.”

The primary functions performed by the DSP are within the parameters of conventional expectations – amendment of room EQ, routing of audio inputs, and adjustment of volume levels and presets – although the challenging acoustic of the room means that the processor’s responsiveness is particularly welcome. The same might be said of its reliability, with the device operating seamlessly and without interruption since installation.

This dramatic improvement in the overall audio performance of the Hall has been noted by both the college staff and the wide range of clients who hire it out. “One of the remarks that came from the customer was that the change between the new and old systems was akin to the difference between night and day,” he says. “Comments from visiting clients have been similarly positive.”

For Audiologic, the project constituted a further good result in a long and successful history of using Xilica products. “Xilica currently offers some of the most cost-effective DSP solutions on the market in the Neutrino and Uno offerings, especially with the versions that support Dante. I am sure we will be specifying these for many other projects in the future,” concludes Lewis.

Download